Drilling extra holes in front hub

I salvaged this front hub from a broken wheel. It originally had 18 holes so would have required a relatively hard-to-find/expensive rim and spokes. So I decided to double the number of holes to 36 for a standard rim. The first step was marking out and punching the hole positions. Then I clamped the hub onto the drill press table and was able to drill a hole (7/64″ or 2.77mm) then rotate the hub to the next mark and drill again, and so on. The holes were then countersunk with a 4mm bit in the same fashion. To countersink the inside of the flanges I used a long 4mm bit at a slight angle as you can see in the photo. I’ll try to lace it into a rim this weekend.

hubdrill1hubdrill2hubdrill3hubdrill4

…….laced it into this rather beat up rim today and it turned out pretty well.

rolfwheel

Leave a comment